The red GS takes a throw-in from the goal line. She releases the ball quickly, but it curves behind the post and lands out of court without ever crossing the goal line into the court.
The umpire penalises an incorrect throw-in. A throw-in is awarded to the blue team from the same spot on the goal line as the original throw-in was taken.
Explanation
The ball from a throw-in must enter the court. Because the ball never came back in, the red GS breaches Rule 6.14. The correct action is to give the throw-in to the non-infringing blue team. This throw-in is taken from the same position as the original throw-in, regardless of where the ball went off the court after being thrown.
Relevant Rules
Rule 6.14
The ball from a throw-in must enter the court.
Action: Throw-in to the opposing team from the same position.
Terminology: Incorrect throw-in.
Cookie Consent
We use cookies to enhance your browsing experience, serve personalised content, and analyse our traffic. Please select which cookies you consent to.